## Binns Cup Final Report 2012.

This year 21 teams entered the Glyndwr County Cup competition with three clubs entering two teams. Early on in the competition last years winners Colwyn Bay RBL went out and after two close Semi-finals St Asaph reached the final again for the 6<sup>th</sup> time in seven years. Rhos Park once the dominant team in the Binns Cup reached the final for the first time since 2005. With Welsh County player Ivor Jones missing on holiday the pre-match odds were stacked against Rhos Park

Once again the forecast for the weather was unpredictable and the match started in the rain but by the time the last blocks were on the sun had come out and so we were set for another fine match and how it turned out. After last years match that went down to the last two players on the green so this year it went down to the last two blocks on the green. With the 10<sup>th</sup> block off Rhos Park were 17 shots in front seemingly in control with both remaining games were close.

However in the remaining play quietness surrounded the game as both players and spectators realised that the last two St Asaph players Mathew Foster and Ben Jones started to raise there game and when Matthew defeated Janet Jones 21-14 then Ben had to run out on Daniel Jones. (Last Year if was Daniel's father Geraint Jones who clinched the match for the Colwyn Bay Legion in the very last game) With the score on 19-11 Ben bowled an almost touching wood across the green, however with his last wood Daniel bowled and beat the wood to make it 12-19 (Rhos Park could not at that stage be beaten on aggregate). Daniel led out and his first wood beaten by Ben, the second wood was short, Silence descended on the green as the second wood was delivered and the wood came in closest to the jack a 21-12 win scores equalled.

In the 83 years since the Binns Cup a match had never been tied on aggregate points, the games were also level at 6 matches each, so to the rules of the competition and in the November 2010 AGM of the Glyndwr Bowling Association following a similar situation it had been decided that the largest win by a player would decide the match and so from a seemingly hopeless position St Asaph were declared the winners having won an earlier match by 21-11.

	Rhos Park "A"		St Asaph "A"	
1	Mike Whalley	20	James Williams	21
2	Andy Bray	21	Mike Clancy	17
3	John Davies	21	Steve Dace	14
4	Steve Lawley	21	Lewis Scott	15
5	Glyn Jones	21	Scott Parry	17
6	Roger Wilson	11	Rob Pierce	21
7	Colin Evans	17	lan Trickett	21
8	Matthew Jones	21	Alan Wyn Jones	19
9	Mark Whitely	21	Garry Wilson	12
10	Julie Bray	20	Dave Phillip	21
11	Janet Jones	14	Matthew Foster	21
12	Daniel Jones	12	Ben Jones	21
	Total	212	Total	212

Results